Home » Family » My Furry Family

My Furry Family

I thought I would take a moment to introduce the world to my furry family.   As previously blogged, I am quite fond of cats.   I have had five in my home at one time and am now down to my two boys.  

AJAX


This cat.   What can I say?  I have been Ajax’s guardian for 12 years.   Ajax and his brother, Alex (RIP), were adopted as pets for my then 12 and 8 year old daughters.  Cat lovers can tell you that you simply don’t tell a cat who he or she belongs to and it was not long before everyone became aware that Ajax was the boss of me.   He is my constant companion.  His likes are anything food…although he is not particularly fond of broccoli having carefully picked through a bowl of cooling steamed veggies to find the cauliflower and knocking the broccoli to the floor.   He likes spankings and butt scritches.  He sleeps at my head or on my chest.   He loves cat nip, cat treats, lying outside on the patio in the sun.  He loves staring at you with that look that makes your hair stand on end.

Ajax is not the most graceful of kitties and has, more than once, found himself hanging off a door between the counter and the window sill as he tried to leap from one to another.  His brother was the nimble one…gracefully leaping to the highest ledges…Ajax, well…Ajax was just not the athletic sort.

His dislikes…closed doors, exuberant kittens, sharing me with my husband.  He speaks to me and has a lot to say…especially when I am cooking.  He is loving to the other cats up to a point.  Then he lets them know who is alpha-cat.  He is afraid of no one and will march up to anyone who comes here and demand to test their petting skill.

Since moving in with my husband, Ajax has made it his lifetime goal to prove to my husband that he is the boss of this house.   He talks over my husband and despite a very active water bottle, meows loudly at the closed bedroom door…daily.  Ajax has plenty of opportunities to get to his perch on the back of the couch but without fail he leaps in the face of my husband and over his shoulder.  That being said, there also is rarely a night that goes by that Ajax is not curled up on my husband’s lap at some point and my husband dozing off scratching Ajax’s ears.   

LEO

Leo beeo Bo-beeo.  My Leo.  Leo is a long hair tuxedo tabby.  He is terribly shy but extremely persistent when he wants something.  Leo runs from everyone (even me) and despite living with us for about 4 or 5 years, still acts like we are demons.

However, Leo has moments (that can expand into hours) of playfulness.   There is a special brush I used for him.   When I get it out, you would think I lit up a crack pipe for the reaction he has.  I don’t have to brush him…he rubs against the brush and purrs with delight.  When he wants to be loved you had better stop what you are doing to love him.   

So Leo’s likes…he likes that brush.   He likes to knead – mostly on my bladder…when it is full.  Leo loves the backyard and loves…loves…loves bringing in snakes.   He is particularly fond of letting the snakes free in the laundry room.  He once brought me a lizard.   I did not care for that.  Leo likes liking stuff by rubbing his face all over it until it is covered in fur.   If it is you he is rubbing, and you do not immediately stop to pet him, he will nip.  I always thought that was cute until he nipped my eyebrow.  That was unpleasant.  And he is fond of curling up in odd places.

Leo’s dislikes outnumber his likes it seems.   Leo does not like closed doors either only instead for throwing his body against the door and huffing like Ajax, Leo simply digs at the corner and whines. Leo is not fond of cat treats, cat nip or any special “people” food except for turkey lunch meat.   For whatever reason he senses that from far away and will prance around the kitchen until you give him a bit.  Leo doesn’t like people.   He likes me.  As a matter of fact, Leo is making writing this blog difficult because he is insisting on loving me.  Kneading my side, head butting and bumping my hand to be petted and nipping.   He purrs louder than any cat I know.

In Memory

As my husband was moving me home, his son’s cat, Buddy, passed away.   I was looking forward to being part of Buddy’s family and, as with the passing of any family member, was quite sad that he would not be with us.

One thought on “My Furry Family

Leave a Reply

