Home » Uncategorized » My Morning:  Routine, cats and cooking

My Morning:  Routine, cats and cooking

It is funny that this blog was originally supposed to be about my adventures in cooking.  I love to cook.  I’m particularly fond of baking.  I like to try unique and ethnic dishes and pastries.  I rarely make the same dish twice, although I do have a cookbook I am writing that keeps the successful recipes in chapters created for the family member that loved the dish.  The plan is to eventually give the kids that book of dishes they liked.  But it seems that nothing exciting (or humorous) has happened in my world of cooking lately.  Oh there is the introduction of homemade ice cream to the husband and stepson, but their reaction was not too unusual…other than the backhanded compliment that it was “as good as store bought”; to which I replied “at least you can pronounce the ingredients in homemade ice cream”.

But today’s blog is about another cat story.  I suffer from anxiety to which my “mild” OCD behavior acts as a protection against.   Much of everything I do is routine because impulsiveness lends to anxiety.  Today, my normal routine was disrupted.   My early morning grocery shopping trip had to be delayed until the pharmacy opened.   So what to do.   I pace.   I cleaned a bit.  I stared at Facebook willing new and exciting statuses to appear.  I waited for my sister to play her scrabble turn.  I took a shower.

Ajax has issues with closed doors.   The fact that he has had to face closed doors in his 14(ish) years of life on a daily basis has not altered his hatred for them.   He whines…louder and louder…he lunges his body against the door…scratches at the door…and worst of all, he knows about a doorknob and will try over and over to open the door.   He has, on occasion, been successful.   Today, while I was in the shower he succeeded in coming into the forbidden zone (my bedroom).  I heard a very large slamming sound and assumed that Ajax had been loudly protesting outside my stepson’s bedroom door (also always closed) and he chased him away before slamming back into his room.  (He is 16 and it was 7 a.m….need I say more.).  Anyway, I finish the shower and walk out of the bathroom and who should greet me, but Ajax.   The look on his face was priceless.  He knew he was in the forbidden zone.   Big eyes, tail down.   Leo, the other cat, was sitting just outside the open door where I am sure he was telepathically telling his brother to GET OUT OF THERE.  In the few minutes between my shower and Ajax’s entry into the forbidden zone, he managed to make his way through the bedroom, through the bathroom and into the room over the garage where he promptly knocked over a very large mirror (the slamming sound).  It didn’t break fortunately and was stopped by the heavy winter comforter I had bagged up for the season and placed against the wall.

It’s all because my routine changed….I’m sure of it.

Leave a Reply

