Home » Humor » One Link Leads To Another

One Link Leads To Another

I am a self-admitted hypochondriac but at the same time, I won’t go to a doctor.  At least not for everything.   If I have a few symptoms…I seek out WebMD or, worse yet, I simply “goggle” the symptoms.  One thing I do see a doctor for are my annual checkups.  Religiously.

This year’s annual “lube, oil and filter” came with additional symptoms that when mentioned to the doctor caused her to take an immediate biopsy, blood tests and a very invasive ultrasound.  Scary as hell despite 4 out of 5 of my female friends telling me they all went through a similar “nightmare”.  Regardless, having lost my mother to cancer, I’m frightened of what they are testing for.  (As of this writing not ALL of the tests are back, but the ones that are do not show anything too alarming, alhamdulillah!)

But back to the reason for this blog.   As someone who likes to research, I took the ultrasound report and blood tests and promptly researched words, phrases and symptoms.   One such phrase in the ultrasound report was ” no fluid in the cul-de-sac”.   I don’t know if I’m the only one, but I never heard the term “cul-de-sac” in relation to anything other than real estate.   I decided to investigate and clicked on a link describing a cul-de-sac in relation to female anatomy.   The cul-de-sac is an area behind the uterus and near the rectum and is also known as the “Douglas pouch”.  It led me to wonder who Douglas was and how obscure female body part came to be named after him.   I found a wiki link connecting the “Douglas pouch” to an 18th century anatomist by the name of James Douglas living in the UK.   There are several rectum/uterine parts bearing his name.  What an honor?

Mr. Douglas was a well known man-midwife and anatomist and I spent a few minutes reading about him on the wiki page.   He was best known for uncovering the hoax of Mary Toft who allegedly gave birth to rabbits.   There was a link.  I clicked it.  I was then treated to the horrendous and crazy case of a woman who, so as to not “want” for anything, after the tragic loss of her near-term child, decided to get attention by shoving animal parts into her uterus and birthing them.  😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱

Needless to say, although this particular round of medical self research didn’t cause me to panic on the off chance I might give birth to a bunny, I was left wondering “WTH just happened.”  

My family did not find the results on my one-click-leads-to-another tale of the crazy woman who shoved little furry bunnies in places they really don’t belong at all as funny as I did, but I had to share.   I have a habit of getting so deep into research (not just medical) that occasionally the outcome has me wondering how I got there.   One link at a time.

One thought on “One Link Leads To Another

  1. I learned a long time ago that the links on which you click are not exactly the links on which I want to click. But it is the perfect way to get through life…one link at a time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

