Home » Family » Happy New Year

Happy New Year

I think 2015 was the fastest year of my life.  I am so happy to be back home with my soulmate and sometimes, as I drive through the farmland and bumpy “main streets” of my small hometown, it is almost as if I never left.

This past year brought me face-to-face with self-acceptance and my ongoing battle with depression and anxiety.   I learned I’m pretty ok just the way I am.  And who I am apparently needs help from others.  And that is ok.

This year brought fear of retaliation because of my chosen faith.  Not just for me directly, but for those in my family whether they have chosen Islam or not.   I have learned that the media truly wants us to be hateful beings because in real life…my real life…I’m greeted with smiles, chit-chat and all the other simple niceties that go along with a loving, happy community.  My scarf may created curiosity, but not hatred.

As for this coming year, I have only one goal.  Continue to be true to who I am…who I really am.  And be ok with that.  I suspect I will have moments of fighting it.   It’s hard to teach an old dog new tricks and I’ve been running from myself for a very long time.   I will continue to accept the fact that I am a good person and people in my life love me…for exactly who I am.

Happy 2016 blogisphere.   I hope it is a good one for us all!!

Leave a Reply

