Home » Life » Page 2 of my Things To Do List

Page 2 of my Things To Do List

For 30 years I have been in the same career.  I like what I do.  I’m good at what I do.  When I moved home, I had a job waiting for me, having interviewed via Skype and offered a position with a firm before I left.  There were three of us sharing the work of three attorneys.  At first I thought it would be nice to have an easier workload.   After all, I was leaving my job where I solely supported 15 attorneys.  I didn’t have much of a social life, other than physically exhausting myself in the boxing gym.  I didn’t need a social life then.   Within 6 months there, I was struggling to find work to motivate me.  Oh sure…I could bates number a few documents or retype verbatim the medical records, but I wasn’t being challenged.  I tried hanging in here…hoping to get busier, but after 1-1/2 years, I left.

I use a tablet of “Things To Do”.  20 lines.  Colorful markers.   It keeps me focused and I can quickly refer to client names and numbers, especially being new.  At my previous job, I was lucky to fill three lines in a week.

Flash forward to yesterday.   Week three at my new job.  Tuesday.  I had to start a second page for this week.  Page 2.  Projects 21-40, although as of 5 pm today (Wednesday) only 8 lines on page 2 were filled.  And not scanning/retyping/photocopying projects.  We are talking research and “come up with a plan of action” projects.  Oh vey.

I am ecstatic.  Exhausted but ecstatic.  Be careful what you wish for…right?

One thought on “Page 2 of my Things To Do List

Leave a Reply

