Home » Life » Jane is so temperamental

Jane is so temperamental

I use the Waze app and I love it.  It took me a few times using it to truly learn to trust Jane.  I tried a few different navigation voices, but Jane and I have a bond.   She knows when to give me an update…sometimes 5.5 miles before, sometimes 3 miles, and sometimes .5 miles.  Whenever she updates me, it is just as I start thinking “am I getting close?”  At first I couldn’t understand why she would route me off the known route, but I quickly learned she knows best and not to question her.   Woman to woman there is a level of trust there.  Having issues with anxiety and not doing spontaneous well, it would be nice if she could say “hey, we’re going to take a 3 mile loop around because there is a traffic jam up ahead and I KNOW you hate sitting in traffic”.  But no, Jane wants unconditional trust.  If she says exit right, you exit right.

My husband is not so trusting of Jane.  Jane does not like my husband (apparently).  Today, a fight ensued.  Well not a fight-fight, but clearly my husband managed to piss Jane off and all I could do was sit back a say “aw snap, you did it now.”  

The funny thing about Waze is that when Jane is silent, you can hear what “she” is thinking.  But here’s how today’s drive went:

We were coming home from Gaithersburg and on 270.  Jane instructs my husband to exit right.  That was about 2 miles from the exit.  Then at 1 mile.  At .5 miles.  Then she seemed to yell EXIT RIGHT.   My husband does not as that is not the way home.   The silence from the app was deafening.  She then says in what clearly seemed to be through gritted teeth “estimated time in traffic is 9 minutes”.   Husband curses.  Being a woman, there was only one thing I could say… “You should have exited.”  He says it would be nice if the app tells you why you need to exit.  “The app.”  Not “Jane.”  Uh oh…it’s on.  I told him that Jane has never steered me wrong and you have to trust her. Obviously with Jane being a woman that was not going to happen.  

We inch along for the promised 9 minutes and get closer and closer to 70.  Jane didn’t say anything.  I could hear her glaring through the app, and staring at my husband with her arms crossed.   For 15 miles, she is silent.  No 5 – 3 -1 mile warning that the exit is getting closer.  No warnings of hazards on the road.  Nothing.   Just silence.

Finally,  Jane being a professional, breaks at .5 and gives direction to exit right.  When her direction is followed, Jane comes back to being her normal helpful self and even gave him a heads up to the police up ahead.

It was an uncomfortable ride home.  If felt so caught in the middle.  Lol.

Leave a Reply

